Port of Tyne Tyne Tunnel 2K International Wheelchair Race
The River God Tyne illustration created by athlete and artist Josh Cassidy

Results 2010

The River God Tyne was behind athlete and artist Josh Cassidy as he stormed to his second major UK road race victory this year. The 2010 Virgin London Marathon winner took gold at the 10th annual Tyne Tunnel 2K wheelchair race just ahead of Beijing double gold medal winner David Weir.

The women's field was won by Shelly Woods and in an incredible performance newcomer Jade Jones, the youngest athlete ever to compete in the race, surprised everyone by taking second place, only four seconds behind the lead female.

Canadian Josh Cassidy completed the grueling 2k course in 4.04.3, followed by GB David Weir at 4.13.3. South African Ernst van Dyk took third place with a time of 4.23.0

The women's race was finished by Shelly Woods in a time of 6.31.1, closely followed by Jade Jones at 6.35.4, and Francesca Porcelatto following in third place with a time of 7.49.5.

Speaking after the race Josh Cassidy said: "This year had the toughest competition in years, and so it was great to come out on top. I was pleased to have a clear win, and also setting a personal best."

Cassidy was commissioned to create a stunning new graphic image of the River God Tyne blowing wheelchair racers through the Tunnel to commemorate the 10th anniversary race, prints of which were handed to the race winners with their prizes.

Baroness Grey Thompson, who competed in the first ever Tyne Tunnel 2k, awarded the prizes to the female race winners. She described the event as'the fastest wheelchair race on the planet', adding that there was no other race like it.

Race promoter, David Burdus said, "This race could only happen here. Tyne Tunnel 2 Ltd and the Tyne and Wear Integrated Transport Authority have helped create this modern classic. North and South Tyneside Councils' support has also been central, with a special thanks to the Kier North Tyneside Council Partnership and North Tyneside Council's event team at the finish line."

"Thanks for support in kind and sponsorship are also due to BT South Tyneside, Simon Storage, Inter Pipeline Fund, Arup, North East chamber of Commerce, Bouygues TP UK, Port of Tyne, Robinson Ward Accountants, Tanni Grey-Thompson Ltd, Nova Holdings, Wheelchair Accessibles and FWA."


Download race results >>



Sponsor logos
Designed by GDA